National Assembly election underway in Madhesh

Published On: January 26, 2022 02:05 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

JANAKPURDHAM, Jan 26: The National Assembly election is currently underway at the Mahendra Narayan Cultural Foundation in Janakpurdham of Madhesh Province. The election started at 9AM today.

Two factions - the five-party ruling coalition and the CPN-UML-Democratic Socialist Party have formed an alliance for the post of two vacant National Assembly members from Madhes Province.

While CPN (Maoist Center) leader Urmila Aryal and Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) leader Mohhamed Ali are the candidates for the post of National Assembly members from the five-party coalition, Usman Karki and Rupa Yadav are the candidates from the CPN-UML and Democratic Socialist Party. From Madhesh Province, the tenure of Sashi Kala Dahal and Sumanraj Pyakurel is coming to an end on March 4. 

There are 104 Province Assembly members in Madhesh Province. Of them, 39 members are form JSP, 16 from Democratic Socialist Party, eight from CPN-UML, 19 from Nepali Congress (NC), 13 from CPN (Unified Socialist), eight from CPN (Maosit Center) and one from Nepal Federal Socialsit Party.


Leave A Comment