Lumbini CM Mahara receives vote of confidence

Published On: April 12, 2024 05:00 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 12: The chief minister (CM) of Lumbini Province, Jokh Bahadur Mahara, has received the vote of confidence in the Lumbini Province Assembly. He received 48 votes in the 86-member provincial assembly.

Chief Minister Mahara received the support of 48 provincial lawmakers including 29 from the CPN-UML, 10 from the CPN (Maoist Center), four from Nagarik Unmukti Party (NUP), three from Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP), one from the CPN (Unified Socialist) Party and independent provincial lawmaker Khadak Basnet. 

Only 28 votes cast by Nepali Congress and Janamat Party provincial assembly members were against the proposal made by the Chief Minister. The Rastriya Prajatantra Party remained neutral in the voting on Friday, while the provincial lawmakers of the Loktantrik Samajwadi Party were absent. Both parties have three members each in the provincial assembly.

Mahara was appointed as the chief minister by Amik Sherchan, Province Chief, on April 5.

After being sworn in as the CM, Mahara appointed one minister each from the UML, Maoist Center and JSP as ministers without portfolio.


Leave A Comment