Lumbini CM Chaudhary gets vote of confidence

Published On: May 2, 2023 03:57 PM NPT By: Devendra Basnet

DANG, May 2: Chief Minister (CM) of Lumbini Province Dilli Bahadur Chaudhary has received the vote of confidence. As many as 53 members of the provincial assembly voted for Chaudhary, who asked for a vote of confidence in the provincial assembly meeting today. This is the majority of votes for this provincial assembly. Also, 29 votes were cast against him. Four members of RPP did not vote. The magic number to prove majority in the 87-member provincial assembly is 44. Chaudhary, who was appointed the CM on April 27, took oath on April 28.

He was appointed the chief minister as per Article 168 (2) of the Constitution. After 25 members withdrew their support to the erstwhile CPN-UML government led by Leela Giri, who was appointed the Chief Minister with the support of parties including Maoists, Giri asked for a vote of confidence on April 24. But after he did not get a vote of confidence, the governor of Lumbini Province Amik Sherchan called for the formation of a new government under Article 168 (2). Chaudhary was appointed the CM with the support of 53 members of the provincial assembly in the current coalition.


Leave A Comment