Local level election: NC leads in 501 municipalities

Published On: May 19, 2022 06:30 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 19: The counting of votes of local level election has been completed in 501 municipalities till Wednesday evening.

According to the results, the Nepali Congress (NC) has clinched the major posts of mayor/chair in 226 municipalities and leading in 91 municipalities. The party has also won 210 deputy mayors and a leading vote count of 84 deputy mayors.

Similarly, the CPN-UML finds the second place in the results tally with 145 mayors and leading in 54 seats. The party has also won 150 seats in the deputy mayors and is leading in 90 seats. The CPN (Maoist Center) has won 96 seats in the mayors and is leading in 23 seats. The party has won the post of deputy mayor in102 municipalities while taking the lead in 20 municipalities.

Likewise, the CPN (Unified Socialist) has come out victorious, winning nine chairs and 16 vice chairs posts. It has taken the lead in mayoral and deputy mayor posts of 11 and three municipalities respectively. The Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) has also won the mayor post of nine municipalities and has taken the lead at 25 local levels. The party has won 10 deputy mayors and is leading in 17 seats.

Meanwhile, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP), Nepal Workers and Peasants' Party and independent candidates have won the post of mayor in 16 municipalities and have taken the lead in 14 more municipalities.

Until the filing of this report, the NC has emerged victorious at 2,095 local level wards. A total of 2,060 women members, 1,032 Dalit women members and 4,138 ward members have been elected on behalf of the party. Similarly, the UML has become victorious at 1,619 wards with the election of 1,755 women members, 1,737 Dalit women members and 3,563 ward members on behalf of it. The Maoist Center has won the elections in 882 wards. It has won elections for 822 women members, 828 Dalit women members and 1,526 ward members.


Leave A Comment