LIVE: Gandaki Province assembly members take part in voting on CM Gurung’s confidence motion

Published On: June 10, 2021 04:30 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, June 10: Chief Minister (CM) of Gandaki Province, Prithvi Subba Gurung, is seeking a trust vote from the Gandaki Province Assembly on Thursday 

Gurung had first been appointed as Gandaki CM after the left alliance comprising CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center) recorded landslide victory in 2017 elections. He  was, however, reappointed as the chief minister on May 12 in his capacity as the leader of the parliamentary party of the largest political party in the province assembly after the coalition partner--- Maoist Center--- withdrew its support to the Gurung-led government. 

Gurung is required to test his fate as the executive head of the province through the confidence motion within 30 days of the date of  appointment. 

Grung had resigned from his position in a tactical way just a day before the province assembly was all set to vote on a no-confidence motion registered against him. The opposition parties including the Nepali Congress (NC), the Maoist Center, Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) and Rastriya Janamorcha (RJM) had proposed NC’s parliamentary party leader Krishna Chandra Nepali Pokharel as the new chief minister in their no-confidence motion against Chief Minister Gurung. 

In the 60-member Gandaki Province assembly, Gurung requires securing at least 31 votes to win the trust and remain in power as the chief minister.

Leave A Comment