Prime Minister Cup Cricket

Lama stars in Sudur Paschim’s consolation win

Published On: June 5, 2019 11:14 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, June 4: Left-arm spinner Binod Lama registered his first 5-wicket-haul to propel SudurPaschim to a four-wicket win against Gandaki Province in the final Group A match of Prime Minister Cup One-Day cricket tournament played at Mulpani Cricket Stadium in Kathmandu on Tuesday.

Lama’s five wickets helped SudurPaschimbundle out Gandaki for paltry 89 runs in 20.4 overs who won the toss and elected to bat first. He was assisted by skipper Sher Malla and Mahesh Adhikari, both sharing two wickets each. 

Likewise, Narendra Saud picked the solitary wicket. Rahul Sharma scored 41 runs off 49 deliveries which included four boundaries and a six. AakashThapa and Kishore Mahato were the only other batsmen to reach double figures scoring 12 and 14 runs respectively. 

SudurPaschimwas struggling at one stage losing six wickets at 33 runs by the end of 17 overs. However, Narendra Saud and Aakash Chand shared a partnership of unbeaten 60 runs to complete the chase in 29.2 overs. Saud remained unbeaten on 23 runs off 42 deliveries including two boundaries, whereas Chand stayed not out on 29 runs off 34 deliveries which included two fours and two sixes.

Kishore Mahato picked three wickets with new ball assisted by stand-in skipper Bipin Khatri’s two to put Gandaki with an excellent chance to defend the low total at one stage. However, Sudur Paschim eventually won the game.

Gandaki remained winless in the tournament whereas SudurPaschimcompleted its first win, after suffering no-result in the match against Province 5 due to rain.

Province 3 and Armed Police Force Club qualified for the semifinals from Group A, whereas Province 5 secured the third position with two wins in four matches. 

Likewise, SudurPaschim finished at the fourth position and Gandaki on the last. 

Province 3 will face Tribhuvan Army Club in the first semifinal on Wednesday whereas Armed Police will take on Nepal Police Club on Thursday. The final will be played on Saturday.



Leave A Comment