Everest Premier League (EPL-2018)

Lalitpur Patriots enters into final securing 1-wicket win over Kathmandu Kings XI

Published On: December 18, 2018 04:16 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 18: Lalitpur Patriots has entered into final securing one-wicket win over Kathmandu Kings XI at the first qualifiers of the Everest Premier League (EPL) -2018 held at the TU Cricket Ground on Tuesday.

Chasing 109 runs target, Lalitpur Patriots reached it losing nine wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

Kushal Bhurtel made highest 29 runs including two fours and one six off 27 balls for Patriots. Similarly, Yogendra Singh Karki scored 28 runs including one four off 29 balls  and remained not out while Gyanendra Malla contributed 21 runs including four fours off 22 balls before being sent to pavilion for lbw.

In reply, Kathmandu’s Pradeep Sahu took highest three wickets with one maiden giving away 11 runs in four overs, while Roshan Mustafa and Kevin O'Brien grabbed two wickets each giving away 23 and 21 runs respectively. Similarly, Samshad Sheikh claimed one wicket.

Invited to bat first after losing the toss, Kathmandu Kings XI notched up 108 runs losing all wickets in 19.5 overs.

Roshan Mustafa top-scored with 32 runs including three fours and two sixes off 20 balls before being run out, Sagar Pun made 29 runs including a four and a six off 30 balls while Siddhant Lohani contributed 16 runs including two four off 24balls.

The rest of batsmen could not score double-digit runs for Kathmandu Kings.

Yogendra Singh Karki was announced Player of the Match. 

With the victory over Kathmandu Kings XI in the first qualifiers, both Lalitpur Patriots and Kathmandu Kings have equal 8 points followed by Bhairahawa Gladiators with six points.  Chitwan Tigers and Biratnagar Warriors are trailing behind with four points each whiel Pokhara Rhinos has not won any matches, thereby scoring nil.


Leave A Comment