Pokhara Premier League

Kathmandu Golden Warriors defeats Biratnagar Titans by 36 runs

Published On: December 21, 2019 08:45 PM NPT

POKHARA, Dec 21: Kathmandu Golden Warriors beat Biratnagar Titans by 36 runs in a match on Saturday under the second edition of Namaste Pokhara Premier League T20 cricket tournament underway in Pokhara.

Put into bat first after winning the toss, Kathmandu Golden Warriors made 159 runs at the loss of five wickets. Chasing the 160-run target, Biratnagar Titans was limited to 123 runs in 19.4 overs losing all wickets. 

With this win, Kathmandu Golden Warriors has secured second position with four points from total four matches. In its previous four matches, it won two and lost two. 

For Kathmandu Golden Warriors, a 66-run partnership between Captain Gyanendra Malla and Jaya Krishna Kolsawala helped the team to compensate the dismissal of opener Gaurab Tamor for a duck. Kolsawala hit 55 runs off 43 balls. Likewise, Malla made 45 off 33 including two sixes and three boundaries. 

Subodh Bhati from Kathmandu Golden Warriors took three wickets, and Amar Rautela and Basanta Regmi two each. Similarly, Amrit Bhattarai and Sushan Bhari claimed one wicket each. 

Biratnagar Titans began with the dismissal of openers Mohammad Jaid Alam and Sunil Dhamala for only four in 1.4 overs. However, a 79-run partnership between Noman Khan and Punit Mehara in the middle of the match created some hope for the team. But this score along was not enough to secure victory. Mehara hit 53 from 31, and Khan 25 off 26. Captain Pradip Singh Airee contributed 29 off 27. 

Mehara took two wickets for Biratnagar Titans, while Kishor Mahato, Jitendra Mukhiya and Noman Khan one each.

Leave A Comment