Hetauda declared as permanent capital of Province 3

Published On: January 12, 2020 12:22 PM NPT By: Raghav Pande

Kathmandu, Jan 12: Hetauda has been declared as the permanent capital of Province 3. Earlier, it was the provisional capital for the province and now it has been confirmed as the permanent capital by the state assembly.

A meeting of the provincial assembly held this morning endorsed the proposal tabled by Chief Minister Dormani Poudyal, proposing Hetauda to be designated as the permanent capital, by over two-thirds majority.

In the voting, 105 votes out of 108, were cast in the support of the proposal. Meanwhile, in the meeting, Sajha Bibeksheel Party leader, Ramesh Poudel presented a proposal, seeking Dhulikhel of Kavre to be designated as the permanent capital and it was rejected by an overwhelming majority, as 101 members out of 104 present in the meeting, voted against it.

According to the provincial assembly speaker, Sanu Kumar Shrestha, the proposal was voted for by only three members and was thus rejected.

Leave A Comment