Gaurika Singh limited to silver after two gold wins

Published On: December 8, 2019 06:52 AM NPT By: Suman Chapagain

KATHMANDU, Dec 7: Gaurika Singh failed to make it three golds in three days after she was pushed to the silver medal by India’s Manna Rajiv Patel in the swimming competition of the ongoing 13th South Asian Games (SAG) in Lalitpur on Saturday. 

In the women’s 100 meters backstroke event at the Satdobato Swimming Complex, Singh finished her distance with a timing of 1:03.15 minute as she claimed the silver. With the timing, she also improved her own previous national record of 1:07.22 minutes. 

Patel won the gold clocking 1:02.36 minute, while her compatriot Ridhima Veerendrakumar finished third timing 1:05.72 minute. 

It was an Indian dominated day as all the six categories were won by the heavyweight nation. 
No other swimmer was able to win any medal, but Alex Gadegaard Shah, Duana Lama and Sayed Hamza Shah were successful to win the national records. 
In women’s 50 meters breaststroke, Nepal’s Duana Lama again failed to shine as she finished fourth with the timing of 35.46. She, however, managed to improve her own previous national record of 35.82. 

In the category, India duo Arora Chahat and Jayaveena Arcot Vijayakumar won the gold and silver medals with the timings of 33.36 and 33.50 respectively. Also, Sri Lanka’s Ramudi Nulara Samarakoon finished third clocking 34.21. 

In men’s 100 meters backstroke, Nepal’s Alex was abysmal yet again finishing sixth in the eight-man race. He clocked 1:02.10 minute, but was able to set a new national record breaking Nathan Dorje Sherpa’s 1:04.06. 

In the category, India’s Srihari Nataraj won the gold timing 53.63, while Sri Lanka duo Halpewaththaga Peiris and Sembukttiaracchige S De Silva won the silver and the bronze timing 54.14 and 56.11 respectively. 

In men’s 50 meters breaststroke, Hamza finished sixth as well, but broke a national record. He timed 31.60 to break Shuvam Shrestha’s record of 31.60. 

Likith Selvaraj Prema won the gold timing 28.06, while the silver and the bronze were bagged by Bangladesh’s Md Ariful Islam (28.36) and Sri Lanka’s Kiran Malinka Jasinghe (28.79) respectively. 
In women’s 800 meters freestyle, India’s Richa Mishra won the gold covering the distance of 9:22.74 minutes, while Sri Lanka’s Samarakoon claimed the silver with a timing of 9:34.42 minutes. Also, Bangladesh’s Junayna Ahmed bagged the bronze timing 9:35.15 minutes. 

In men’s 400 meters, India’s Sridhar Siva won the gold with a timing of 4:27.77 minutes, while Bangladesh’s Juwel Ahmmed claimed the silver timing 4:40.82 minutes. Likewise, Sri Lanka’s Revan Vinnath Senaratne got the bronze with 4:46.67 minutes. 

In women’s 50 meters freestyle, India’s Rujuta Deepan Bhatta got the gold timing 26.34. Likewise, Sri Lanka duo Bhakti Ashinsa Karunasena and Sandu Savindi J Muhandiramge clocked 26.81 and 27.03 to win the silver and the bronze respectively.  

Leave A Comment