Gaurika sets another nat’l record, wins three golds

Published On: April 24, 2019 10:28 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

NEPALGUNJ, April 24: Gaurika Singh of Tribhuvan Army Club set another national record and bagged three gold medals as she took her gold tally to eight in swimming in the Eighth National Games in Nepalgunj on Tuesday.

Singh improved her own national record in 100-meter butterfly, outshone her opponents in 200-meter backstroke, and 200-meter butterfly to win three gold medals.

Singh timed 1.09.97 in 100-meter butterfly to improve her own previous national record of 0.08.63. Duana Lama of Army and Shreebi Maharjan of Armed Police Force bagged silver and bronze, respectively. Lama clocked 1.14.07 and Maharjan took 1.21.37. 

In 200-meter freestyle, Singh took 2.09.19 seconds to win gold. Duana of Army and Tisa Shakya of APF finished second and third taking 2.18.10 and 2.26.31 seconds, respectively.

Singh also won gold in 200-meter backstroke. She timed 2.41.25 while Anushka Pokharel of Nepal Police completed the distance in 3.00.63 to win silver, followed by Diya Sthapit of APF timing 3.06.47.

This is the third national record for the youngest Olympian of 2016 Rio Olympics in Nepalgunj. On Sunday, Singh set national record in 50-meter backstroke timing 30.85 to improve her own record of 31.31. She also improved her own national record in 100-meter free style clocking 59.60 to shatter her previous record of 59.91 seconds.

In men’s 200-meter backstroke, Non-Resident Nepali (NRN) Team’s Nathan Dorje sealed the gold medal clocking the distance in 2.16.50, while APF’s Tenzing Namdol and Ryan Gurung became second and third, respectively. Namdol and Gurung completed the distance in 2.27.32. 

In women’s 50-meter breaststroke, Army’s Duana Lama won the gold timing 36.00, while Army’s Upasti Maharjan, timing 36.88, and APF’s Tisha Shaky, clocking 37.60, stood second and third respectively. 

Also, in men’s 50-meter breaststroke, APF’s Shuvam Shrestha improved his national record to win the gold as he clocked 31.90 beating his previous record of 32.01. Likewise, Police’s Dipankar Awale clocked 33.25 and APF’s Bedagya Raj Joshi timed 34.42 to become second and third respectively. 

In men’s 200-meter freestyle, Police’s Gurav Lama won the gold with the timing of 2.20.28, while Police’s Tarun Bhandari, 2.22.78 and APF’s Ujgen Maharjan, 2.24.78, finished second and third respectively. 

Likewise, in men’s 100-meter butterfly, Army’s Anubhav Subba clocked 1.00.62 to win the gold, while Police’s Sayed Hamza Shah (1.00.66), and NRNA’s Sherpa (1.1.75) became second and third respectively. 

Leave A Comment