Gaurika sets another national record, wins two golds

Published On: April 23, 2019 08:54 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

NEPALGUNJ, April 23: Departmental team Tribhuvan Army Club’s Gaurika Singh has improved a new national record and won two gold medals in swimming in the ongoing Eighth National Games on Monday. 

In 100-meter freestyle event, Singh set the record completing the distance in 59.60 to improve her own national record. Army’s Sophia Shah, clocking 1.2.59 and Armed Police Force (APF) Club’s Tisha Shakya, timing 1.2.59, finished on silver and bronze medals respectively. 

Also, in women’s 400-meter freestyle, Gaurika won gold medal covering the distance in 4.44.81. Army’s Duwana Lama and APF’s Tisha Shakya won silver and bronze medals respectively. 
Likewise, in men’s 400-meter freestyle, Non-Resident Nepali (NRN) team’s Nathan Sherpa, clocking 4.33.09, won the gold medal. APF’s Nassir Hussein and Urjen Maharjan claimed silver and bronze medals respectively. 

In men’s 100-meter freestyle, Army’s Alex Shah also improved his national record winning the gold as he timed the distance in 55.63. His previous national record was 55.68. In the same category, Nepal Police Club’s Sayed Hamza Shah won the silver medal, while Army’s Anubhav Subba bagged the bronze medal. 

In men’s 50-meter butterfly, Police’s Shah, timing 27 seconds, improved his previous national record to win the gold. Army’s Subba won the silver medal, while APF’s Tenzing Gurung grabbed the bronze. 

In women’s 50-meter butterfly, Army’s Sophia Shah, clocking 33.50 seconds, won the gold, while Police’s Anusia Tandukar and APF’s Shreewi Maharjan stood first and second respectively. 
In men’s 200-meter breaststroke, APF’s Subham Shrestha, completing the distance in 2.39.44, won the gold medal. Police’s Dipankar Awale and Province 1’s Bedagya Raj Joshi finished 
second and third, respectively. 

In women’s 200-meter breaststroke, Army’s Duwana Lama, covering the distance in 2.55.09, bagged the gold medal, while Army’s Upaasti Maharjan and Police’s Adipsha Baidhya got silver and bronze respectively. 

Leave A Comment