FWEAN elects new leadership

Published On: October 11, 2017 06:15 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Oct 11: The 14th Annual General Assembly of Federation of Women's Entrepreneurs of Nepal (FWEAN) on Tuesday elected a new executive with Sharada Rijal as president.

Except, second vice-president all the office-bearers and executive committee members were elected unopposed. Niru Rayamajhi and Renu Sthapit are contesting for the post of second vice president. The election will be held on Wednesday.

Rita Singh has been elected to the post of first vice president unopposed.

The post of president in the leading body of women entrepreneurs was lying vacant after incumbent president Bhawani Rana was elected president of the Federation of Nepalese Chamber of Commerce and Industries (FNCCI) some ten months ago. 

The new executive committee will assume office on Wednesday. 

Shova Gyawali, who is the incumbent general secretary, has unanimously elected as third vice-president of the federation. Darshana Shrestha, Sunita Vaidya Shrestha, and Hajuri Bista are the new general secretary, secretary, and treasurer, respectively. All other members of the existing executive committee have been re-elected.

FWEAN has a 19-member executive committee.

At the AGM on Tuesday, General Secretary Gyawali presented the organization's annual report, while treasurer Bista presented financial report of the organization. Bista told the AGM that the federation has collected Rs 40,000 for providing support to Tarai flood victims. 
Speaking at the AGM, outgoing president Rana said that FNCCI is ready to provide help for women entrepreneurs. "But they should be able to take risk and lead their businesses themselves," she added. 

Leave A Comment