Four UML ministers sworn in as  Bagmati Province expands cabinet

Published On: April 2, 2024 06:40 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 2:  Four ministers appointed by the CPN-UML in Bagmati Province have taken the oath of office and secrecy.

Bagmati Province Chief Yadav Chandra Sharma on Tuesday administered the oath of office and secrecy to Keshav Pokharel and Prakash Shrestha from Kathmandu, Rameshwar Shrestha from Lalitpur, and Eklal Shrestha from Makwanpur, all representing the UML.

Prakash Shrestha has got the responsibility of the Ministry of Industry, Commerce, and Land Administration. Pokharel will take charge of the Forest and Environment Ministry, Ekalal Shrestha was handed the responsibility of the Ministry of Water Supply, Energy and Irrigation and Rameshwar Shrestha will lead the Health Ministry.

With this, the number of members in the Council of Ministers has reached 13 in Bagmati Province, which includes 12 ministries along with the chief minister.

Despite an agreement within the ruling coalition to maintain only 11 ministries, Chief Minister Shalikram Jamkattel’s decision to appoint Rama Ale Magar from the CPN (Unified Socialist), as a minister without portfolio has caused dissatisfaction among UML members.


Leave A Comment