Former RPP leader Thapa, others join NC (with photos)

Published On: July 28, 2020 07:20 PM NPT By: Kamal Subedi  | @Inspiredkamal

Says he feels immense pleasure on joining the party ‘leading the political change’

KATHMANDU, July 28: Two days after dozens of leaders quit the party, former Joint General Secretary of Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) Sunil Bahadur Thapa and other RPP leaders have taken the membership of Nepali Congress (NC).

NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba awarded the membership of the party to the former minister Thapa and other leaders amidst a special program held at the party’s headquarters in Sanepa, Lalitpur on Monday afternoon.

Speaking on the occasion, leader Thapa said that he felt an immense pleasure to join the party that led major political transformation in the country. He also took his time to pay homage to late BP Koirala, Subarna Shumsher, Ganeshman Singh, Krishna Prasad Bhattarai, Girija Prasad Koirala, Surya Prasad Upadhyay, Mahendra Narayan Nidhi, Sushil Koirala and his later father Surya Bahadur Thapa.

As many as 30 senior leaders including Thapa had resigned en masse from the RPP earlier on Saturday. In a letter addressed to all three chairmen of the party, the leaders claimed that they decided to quit the party as lack of clear vision among the top leaders on how to steer the party forward had caused less attraction of youths toward the party. They said that they were not able to stay with the party as the policies adopted by the party were against the people's mandate.

Leave A Comment