Five parties register names for National Assembly elections

Published On: December 12, 2023 01:30 PM NPT By: Smriti Dhungana  | @aesmriti

KATHMANDU, Dec 12: The Election Commission (EC) has said that five political parties have submitted applications for party registration so far for the National Assembly elections to be held on January 25, 2024. Assistant Spokesperson for the EC, Surya Prasad Aryal, informed Republica that five parties have applied for party registration for the National Assembly elections.

Parties such as CPN-UML, CPN (Maoist Center), Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP), Janamat Party and Nepal Workers and Peasants Party (NWPP) have applied to the commission to participate in the National Assembly elections.

"As of Monday, five political parties have submitted applications for registration for the upcoming National Assembly elections scheduled for January 25," he said. "The EC had invited party registrations for the National Assembly elections from December 10 to December 15. So far, CPN-UML, CPN (Maoist Center), Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP), Janamat Party and Nepal Workers Peasants Party (NWPP) have registered."

Out of the 20 posts in the National Assembly that will be vacant from March 3, 2024 elections are being held on January 25 for 19 posts.

The EC will register the candidacy for the upcoming National Assembly elections on January 8, 2024. Complaints against the candidates can be filed on January 9. Voting will be held on January 25. The final list will be published on January 11, candidates can withdraw their names on January 12, from 10AM to 1AM on January 13. The schedule for awarding election symbols to the candidates has already been announced.

Regarding the distribution of the 19 elected seats, discussions among the ruling parties suggest that the Nepali Congress is vying for 9 seats, the Maoist Center for 6 seats, the CPN (Unified Socialists) for three seats, and Janata Samajwadi Party for one seat. Additionally, the Nepali Congress has requested the seat of one MP nominated by the President.

The notice issued by the EC reads, “Parties registering for the National Assembly Member Election must adhere to the regulations outlined in Article 269 of the Constitution of Nepal and Section 4 of the Political Parties Act, 2073 BS. The deadline for submitting applications to the EC during office hours is from December 10 to December 15, as per Schedule-12 of the Regulations on Political Parties, 2074 BS.”

The EC has also determined that voters for the National Assembly members' election will include members of the Provincial Assembly as well as the heads and deputy heads/chairman and vice-chairman of the local level. 

Based on the data collected in the 2078 census, the National Statistics Office has recommended determining the voting eligibility for National Assembly members, including members of the provincial assemblies and the electoral preferences of local government officials.

"The EC has established a quota of 53 votes for Provincial Assembly members, 19 votes for the Chairpersons and Vice-Chairpersons of municipalities, and 19 votes for the Mayors and Deputy Mayors of metropolitan cities. In the National Assembly, there will be a total of 20 members, including 9 from the CPN-UML (including Chairman Ganesh Timilsina), 4 from the Nepali Congress, 3 from the Nepal Communist Party (Maoist Center), 2 from the CPN (Unified Socialist) Party, 1 from Janata Samajwadi, and 1 Independent candidate. The term for these 20 MP will commence from March 4."


Leave A Comment