EC submits final results of HoR to Prez

Published On: February 14, 2018 09:03 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 14: The Election Commission (EC) has submitted the final results of House of Representatives (HoR) elections to the President on Wednesday evening.

During a meeting held at Sheetal Niwas, the Chief Election Commissioner and Commissioners with President Bidya Devi Bhandari, the EC has submitted the report, more than two months after the completion of the elections. This has paved out a way for the formation of the new government.

Five parties have become national parties following the elections held over two rounds on November 26 and December 7, 2017. CPN-UML has become the single largest party winning 80 seats through first-past-the-post (FPTP) system and 41 through the PR system.

Nepali Congress (NC) is second winning 40 through PR and 23 through FPTP systems. CPN (Maoist Center), that won 36 seats in FPTP system after forging an alliance with UML, is third with 53 after winning 17 through PR system.

Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJP) and Federal Socialist Forum Nepal (FSFN) have won 11 and 10 seats respectively through FPTP system and six each through PR system.

Leave A Comment