EC forms three-member monitoring team to investigate into Chitwan incident

Published On: May 29, 2017 05:55 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 29: The Election Commission has formed a three-member monitoring team to carry out investigation into the incident related to tearing of ballot papers by CPN (Maoist Centre) cadres in course of counting votes of ward no 19 of Bharatpur Metropolitan City under the first round of local-level election. 

Today's meeting of the Commission decided to form the monitoring team under the coordination of Joint-Attorney Gita Prasad Timilsina. 

Joint-Secretary of the Home Ministry and Deputy Inspector General at the Police Headquarters are also in the team, said EC Spokesperson, Surya Prasad Sharma. The team has been asked to submit its report within May 31. 

Chief Returning Officer had sent a report to the EC on the reason of suspending the vote counting for the time being citing tense situation had arisen there after some ballot papers were torn down. 

Out of 29 wards of the Metropolitan City, vote counting of 27 wards has already been completed. 

Devi Gyawali from the CPN (UML) and Renu Dahal from the alliance of the CPN (Maoist Centre) and Nepali Congress are in race of Mayoral post in Bharatpur Metropolitan City. RSS 

Leave A Comment