NC's voting for PP leader begins

Published On: March 5, 2018 10:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Mar 5: Former prime minister and Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba and former general secretary of the party Prakash Man Singh have filed their candidacy for the election of the parliamentary party leader.  

NC leaders Bal Krishna Khand and Bharat Kumar Sah had filed Deuba's candidacy for the PP leader election. Bijay Kumar Gachchhadar proposed his candidacy while Man Bahadur Bishwakarma seconded the proposal. Similarly, Singh also filed his candidacy for the post, challenging party president Deuba. Leader Sita Devi Yadav proposed his nomination and Sanjay Gautam seconded the proposal.
As per the election schedule made public by the party, aspirants willing to file their candidacy for the post of PP leader had to submit their candidacy in between 6:00 pm to 7:30 pm Sunday. The final list of the candidates for the post of PP leader will be made public on Monday morning. The voting will take place from 10 am to 1 pm on March 5 at the NC parliamentary party office in Singha Durbar. 

The Nepali Congress has 63 lawmakers in the 275-member House of Representatives. Among them, 23 are elected from the first-past-the-post election while 40 are elected from the proportional representation category. Majority of NC lawmakers in the lower house are from the Deuba camp.

NC leader Prakash Man Singh files his nomination for parliamentary party leader. Bal Krishna Khand filed the nomination of NC President Sher Banadur Deuba for the post. Photo: Republica

Leave A Comment