CPN (MC) finalizes names of four ministers

Published On: August 14, 2016 12:41 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Aug 14: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal has finalized the names of four ministers from his party in a bid to expand the Cabinet on Sunday.

The CPN (Maoist Center) has selected Janardan Sharma as Minister for Energy, Ram Karki as Minister for Information and Communications, Hitraj Pandey as Minister for Local Development and DR Paudel as Minister for Education.  

Prabhu Sah, whose name had been recommended under the Madhesi quota, was removed from the ministers’ list at the eleventh hour.

They are scheduled to take oath of office and secrecy at 3 pm today.

The personal secretariat of the Prime Minister’s Office had informed the Office of the President on Saturday itself.

There are only 11 ministers currently in the Council of Ministers headed by Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal who was elected as the head of the government 11 days ago.  

The Cabinet expansion was delayed after the main ruling alliance Nepali Congress could not finalize the names of ministers from its side.

Thirteen ministries have been allocated for the NC while the CPN (Maoist Center) will be heading eight ministries as per the agreement. 

Leave A Comment