College Premier League Cricket Tournament from Feb 13

Published On: February 7, 2018 12:28 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 7: Nepalaya International College is going to organize the College Premier League Cricket Tournament from February 13. Players under 19 years of age will be eligible to participate in the Twenty20 tournament, to be played in league cum knockout format.

The tournament is being organized in coordination with the National Sports Council (NSC) and Higher Institutions and Secondary Schools’ Association Nepal (HISSAN).

The tournament will be played in nine different cities of Nepal with an aim to search for new talents and nurture them. The opening match of the tournament will be held in Dhangadhi. Other matches will be organized in Nepalgunj, Dang, Bhairahawa, Chitwan, Pokhara, Kathmandu, Itahari and Birtamod, said the organizers.  

Expert Education and Visa Service are the official partners of the tournament which will run for a month. The Chef Executive Officer (CEO) of Expert Cricket, Sanjeev Sharma and the Executive Director of Nepalaya Subhash Pradhan signed an agreement amid a program organized in the capital on Tuesday. However, the sponsorship amount wasn’t disclosed. 

“We have always wanted to work as a social organization since our company was established. So, we agreed to work together for this tournament,’’ Sharma said adding, “That’s why we have not disclosed the amount. We will bear the maximum expenses of the tournament though.’’

Pradhan informed that 16 to 20 teams from each participating city will take part in the tournament. The 14 members of the winning team will be rewarded with a duge cricket bat each. 

“We have held school level tournaments before. Few of those players even represented national level sides,” Pradhan said adding, ”Our aim is to further improve national team’s bench strength by providing opportunities to new Under-19 age group players through this campaign.”

On the occasion, Nepalaya also handed over cricket kits to the Blind cricket team of Nepal in their honor.


Leave A Comment