Chandrakala improves her own national record

Published On: April 19, 2019 09:53 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

DANG, April 19: The departmental team Nepal Police Club’s Chandrakala Lamgade has improved her own record in women’s shot put as she won the gold medal. She improved her record by throwing the iron ball to 12.04 meters to win the gold. Her previous record was 11.46 centimeters at the National Sports Council (NSC) Championship.  

The athletics also started on Thursday at Beljhundi, Dang. In women’s 1,000 race, the other departmental team Tribhuvan Army Club’s Saraswati Chaudhary won the gold medal completing the race in 12 minutes and 19 seconds. Province 5’s Jayarani Chaudhary won the silver, while Army’s Krishna Chaudhary finished third. 

In men’s 100 meters, the other departmental team Armed Police Force (APF) Club’s Aashish Chaudhary claimed the gold completing the distance inside 11 seconds.

Karnali Province’s Yam Sajan Sunar, completing the race in 11.10 seconds got the silver, while Army’s Ananda Dev Chaudhary finished third with the timing of 11.15 seconds.
In women’s 10,000 meters, Army’s Bishwarupa Budha won the gold completing the distance in 37 minutes and 30.9 seconds, while Police’s Rajpura Panchai finished on silver and Province 3’s Santoshi Shrestha claimed the third place. 

Also, in men’s 10,000 meters, Karnali’s Durga Budha won the gold medal completing the race in 31 minutes and 3.01 seconds, while Anish Thapa of Gandaki and APF’s Gopi Chandra Parki stood second and third respectively. 

Army has registered wins in men’s and women’s handball tournament defeating Province 5 42-17. 
In the other game played at the handball ground of Nepalgunj Stadium, Gandaki beat Karnali 40-15. 
At the District Administration Office of Sadarline, Army overcame Province 3 33-4, while Province 5 saw off Karnali 10-7 in women’s category. 

Army has bagged gold medals in both men’s and women’s National Kabaddi Tournament.
In men’s final at the Bansgadhi Kabaddi Academy in Bardiya, Army beat Province 5 42-21, while it defeated Police 36-21 to win the gold in women’s category. 

Province 1’s Sita Rai has advanced into the semifinals of the ongoing 40th National Badminton Tournament defeating APF’s Shobha Gauchan on straight sets of 21-17, 21-15. 
Rai will now take on Nepal number one Army’s Nangsal Devi Tamang, who beat Army’s Ranjana Bhatta 21-18, 21-12, in the semifinals. 

In the other games played at the Covered Hall in Ghorahi, Army’s Anu Maya Rai saw off APF’s Jessica Gurung 21-16, 21-9 and set her last four clash with Army’s Rasila Maharjan, who overcame Province 1’s Sima Rajbanshi 21-14, 21-11. 
In men’s singles, Army’s Ratnajit Tamang advanced into the semifinals defeating Police’s Jeevan Acharya 21-10, 21-11 and set his last four clash with Province 1’s Prince Dahal, who beat Army’s Praphul Maharjan 21-10, 21-10. 

Similarly, APF’s Bikash Shrestha defeated Nabin Shrestha 21-15, 15-21, 21-16 to set his clash with APF’s Dipesh Dhami, who got past Police’s Deepak Bohora 21-17, 21-15.  
In women’s doubles, the Army pairs of Nangsal and Anu Maya along with Amita Giri and Rasila Maharjan advanced into the semifinals. 

Likewise, three Army pairs entered into the men’s doubles semifinals which were Ratnajit and Nabin, Suroj Maharjan and Praphul, and Pabin Lingthep and Rukesh. Province 1’s Sita and Sima saw off Province 3’s Mahima Shrestha and Safi Khatri 21-5, 21-3. 
Also, in mixed doubles, the APF pair of Puja Shrestha and Dipesh beat Army’s Suroj and Rasila 21-10, 21-11 to advance into the last four, while another APF pair of Gurung and Gautam Singh Kathayat 
defeated Army’s Bhatta and Rukesh 21-13, 21-18 to reach the semis. 

Likewise, Army’s Giri and Nabin cruised to the last four beating Province 1’s Sita and Bikash 21-12, 21-6, and fixed their clash with Puja and Dipesh. 
Soft tennis 

Province 5’s Abhishek Aman Jhale saw off Gandaki’s Suraj Nagarkoti on straight sets of 4-0 in the opening game of soft tennis men’s singles. 

In the other games played at the tennis complex in Devinagar, Rupandehi, Province 1’s Abhishek Karki beat the same province’s Aabhash Budathoki 7-2 in tiebreaker, Province 1’s Yukesh Yonjan saw off Gandaki’s Rajkumar Thapa 4-1, Police’s Subodh Adhikari overcame Province 5’s Shubham Khanal 4-0, Province 3’s Shakti Sharma defeated Sudur Paschim Province’s Binod Shirish 4-2, APF’s Kumar Giri got past Province 3’s Brijesh Pandey 4-0, Gandaki’s Sujan Gurung beat Sudurpaschim’s Niraj Thapa 4-1, Sudurpaschim’s Dilip Gupta beat Gandaki’s Aashish Khadka 9-7 in tiebreaker, Province 1’s Aashish Bohora overcame Police’s Binod Yogi 4-2, APF’s Ujjwal Sthapit saw off Sudurpaschim’s Deepak Jha 4-2. 

Also, in the other men’s singles matches, Police’s Nau Bahadur Lugeli beat APF’s Suman Lama 4-0, Police’s Hari Bahadur Basnet defeated APF’s Nishchal Kayastha 4-2, Province 5’s Suraj Chaudhary claimed a 4-1 victory over Province 5’s Yogesh Bhandari, Province 1’s Ranish Tamang saw off Province 3’s Dharma Bahadur Ghale 4-0, Province 3’s Pradeep Khatri thrashed APF’s Rajendra Shrestha 4-0 and Sudurpaschim’s Ramesh Pandey got past Gandaki’s Bishnu Nepali 4-1. 

Similarly, in women’s singles, Sudurpaschim’s Bhawana Paneru beat Sudur Paschim’s Ashmi Dhami 4-0, Province 1’s Shreya Yonjan defeated Gandaki’s Binita GC 4-0, Police’s Bishna Bhandari saw off APF’s Roshika Pokharel 4-2, Sudurpaschim’s Sisam Chand overcame APF’s Kritika Giri 4-0 and Province 1’s Georgia Chaudhary claimed a 4-1 win over Gandaki’s Swikriti Udas to enter the next round.

Leave A Comment