Deuba wins vote of confidence in parliament with 165* votes

Published On: July 18, 2021 09:55 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 18: Nepali Congress (NC) President Sher Bahadur Deuba has won vote of confidence in the reinstated parliament.

NC President Deuba, who was appointed as the prime minister as per the Article 76(5) of the constitution on Tuesday following Supreme Court's mandamus, secured a total of  165 votes in parliament. He needed support of at least 138 members to win parliament's confidence as prime minister. 

A total of 249 lawmakers were present in the 271-member House of Representatives (HoR) on Sunday. Of them, 165 voted in favor of Deuba, while 83 lawmakers voted against Deuba's proposal to seek confidence in parliament. According to Speaker Agni Sapkota, one member chose to stay neutral in the voting. 

This paves the way for Prime Minister Deuba to remain in office for next one and half year, until fresh parliamentary election is held. Lawmakers belonging to CPN(Maoist Center), Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) factions led by both Upendra Yadav and Mahantha Thakur, Rastriya Janamorcha Party and a section of lawmakers of CPN-UML had voted in favor of Deuba during the floor test. A lawmaker belonging to Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) had chosen to abstain the voting. 




Leave A Comment