Big three decide to form parliamentary sub-committee to discuss TRC bill

Published On: May 14, 2023 03:14 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 14: The three major political parties have decided to advance the transitional justice bill by forming a sub-committee under the thematic committees of the House of Representatives.

Earlier, it was agreed to proceed with this bill by forming a parliamentary special committee. According to that, even though the work schedule of the House of Representatives was decided, they could not move forward the further processes.

The House of Representatives has sent the Transitional Justice Bill to the Law, Justice and Human Rights Committee for deliberations.

Subas Chandra Nemwang, the deputy parliamentary party leader of the CPN-UML said, “Even though it was said to form a special committee in the past, now it has been decided to proceed by forming a sub-committee under the relevant thematic committee.”

According to Nemwang, such an agreement was reached at the meeting of the three main parties held at the Prime Minister’s residence, Baluwatar, on Sunday.

Prime Minister and Chairman of CPN (Maoist Center) Pushpa Kamal Dahal, President of Nepali Congress Sher Bahadur Deuba, Chairman of the main opposition party CPN-UML KP Sharma Oli, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Defense Purna Bahadur Khadka, Deputy Parliamentary Party Leader of CPN-UML Nemwang, Chief Whip of NC Ramesh Akhtar, Chief Whip of Maoist Center Hitraj Pandey were present in the meeting. 


Leave A Comment