EC scraps 41 political parties

Published On: August 4, 2021 08:43 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, August 4: The Election Commission (EC) has scrapped registration of 41 political parties.

With this, there are now 95 political parties in the country. Earlier, 136 political parties were registered at the EC.

The EC dismissed 41 political parties after they failed to submit audit reports for three consecutive years. The EC has maintained that Names, Flags and Symbols used by these parties cannot be used by any other political parties for one year.

According to EC Spokesperson Raj Kumar Shrestha, the EC has scrapped these political parties and office bearers of their working committee have also faced action. These parties will now need to file Rs 50,000 each. "In order to prevent the central office bearers and members of the dismissed parties from becoming office bearers of other parties for a period until the fine is collected, it has been decided to proceed with the proceedings in accordance with the law only after registering a new party and updating the existing parties," said Shrestha.

The EC had earlier sought clarification from 86 political parties failing to submit audit reports for three consecutive years.

According to the Political Parties Act 2073, the political parties registered at the EC are required to maintain uptodate account of their income and expenditure and submit it to the Commission within one month after conducting an audit within six months of the end of the fiscal year.


Leave A Comment