Bhuwan wins Surya Nepal NPGA Tour Championship

Published On: April 27, 2018 07:51 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 27: Bhuwan Nagarkoti has won the Surya Nepal NPGA Tour Championship at the Par-72 Gokarna Golf Club in Kathmandu on Thursday.

Nagarkoti defeated Nepal number one pro and the defending champion Shiva Ram Shrestha by two strokes to win the third title of the season for his fifth overall title. 

Nagarkoti carded four-under 68 for the 72-hole total score of six-under 282 in the ninth event under the Surya Nepal Tour Championship 2017-18. 

He bagged a purse of Rs 115,000.

Shrestha played two-under 70 for the score of 284 and he received Rs 74,000. 
Purna Sharma (73) and Rame Magar (71) shared the third position at even-par 288 and they earned Rs 47,500 each.

Dhana Thapa and Rabi Khadka shared the fifth position at 290 and they received Rs 34,500 each, while pros Deepak Acharya, Jayaram Shrestha and Bal Bhadra Rai shared the seventh position at four-over 292 and they were rewarded with Rs 26,333 each. 

Ram Krishna Shrestha (74) was 10th at 293 and he earned Rs 22,000.
Likewise, in amateur section, Tanka Bahadur Karki won the title with the total score of two-under 286. 

He played even-par 72 in the final round. Sukra Bahadur Rai and Tashi Tsering were tied on the second position at two-over 290 and Rai claimed the runner-up trophy on count back. Rai carded two-under 70, while Tashi Tsering carded two-over 74 on the final day.

A total of 60 players took part in the tournament organized by Nepal PGA under the sponsorship of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd. President of the Nepal PGA Rabindra Man Shrestha and Vice-president of Nepal Golf Association Pavitra Kumar Karki handed over the prizes to the winners. 

The tour will come to its end next month with the Surya Nepal Premier Golf Tournament at the Gokarna Golf Club.

Leave A Comment