B Division winners awarded

Published On: October 5, 2016 08:39 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Oct 5: Newly crowned champion of Martyrs Memorial B Division League, Chyasal Youth Club, got rewarded with a winner's trophy and cash prize of Rs 500,000 at ANFA Complex, Satdobato on Wednesday. 

NRT, which finished second in the league, was given a runner-up trophy and Rs 250,000 while RCT and Satdobato Youth Club were rewarded with Rs 150,000 and Rs 75,000 respectively for their 3rd and 4th place finish.

Champion Chyasal won nine matches, drew one and lost three out of 13 and collected 28 points while runner-up NRT registered eight wins, four draws and one loss collecting equal 28 points. Both sides earned promotion to the A Division League.

In the individual category, Chyasal dominated the awards as Chet Narayan Shrestha was declared the best coach of the league while Raja Babu Thapa and Chetan Tharu bagged best goalkeeper and best defender awards. Similarly, Sushil Lama of NRT was given the best midfielder award while  Khumaltar's captain Suraj Raut, who scored ten goals in the league, got the best forward award. The winners of all the individual awards were given Rs 25,000 each.

Keshav Kumar Bista, member secretary of National Sports Council, ANFA Acting President Narendra Shrestha, Vice President Karma Tshering Sherpa among others distributed the prizes to the winners. 

Meanwhile, in the last match of the league played at ANFA Complex, Samajik Youth Club defeated Madhyapur Youth Association 4-3.  

Joint top scorer Bhuwan Basnet gave lead to Samajik scoring a goal in the very first minute of the game. Bhuwan was again on the score sheet in the 24th minute to extend the lead by 2-0. Sabin Dangol pulled back a goal in the 35th minute for Madhyapur.

Samajik again extended the league with Suresh Khatri's goal in the 2nd minute of first half injury time. Bhuwan completed his hat-trick in the 66th minute to drive his team toward victory. Madhyapur tried to return back in the game with two late goals from Yaman Rajbahak and Santosh Singh Thakuri in the 86th and 92nd minutes respectively but the Bhaktapur-based club couldn't wrap up the league with victory. 

Leave A Comment