Army thrashes APF by 33 runs to lift PM Cup 2021

Published On: January 30, 2021 05:03 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

This is the first time Army has bagged the title after having suffered loss in first three editions 

KATHMAMDU,  Jan 30: Tribhuwan Army Club (TAC) has beaten the Armed Police Force (APF)  by 33 runs to lift the Prime Minister Cup 2021.

In the final clash played at the Tribhuvan University Cricket Ground in Kirtipur on Saturday afternoon, the APF team fell short of 33 runs while chasing the target of 212 posted by the TAC. The Army team, after losing the toss, was invited to bat in the first innings. The team, losing nine wickets, garnered 211 runs with the highest run scorer, Hari Chauhan scoring 58 runs off 102 balls. Rajesh Pulami contributed 28 runs to the scoreboard followed by Shahab Alam’s unbeaten 25. Sushan Bhari and Rohit Poudel scored 13 runs each.

APF’s Abinash Bohara sent four Army players off to the pavilion while Kishore Mahato claimed two wickets.

Chasing the target, the APF could score only 178 runs losing all the 10 wickets with 51 balls remaining. Though Asif Sheikh posted 61 runs off 71 on the scoreboard, the other players could not make a significant contribution to the match. Except for Sudeep Jora (29), Shankar Rana (21),  Sumit Maharjan (19) and Subash Khakurel (14), other batsmen could not reach a double-digit score.

Amry’s Jitendra Mukhiya, Shahab Alam and Bikram Sob took three APF wickets each while Sushan Bhari sent one batsman to the pavilion ensuring an easy win for the departmental team.

TAC had lost in the final of the first edition of the tournament to Nepal Police Club. APF beat Army in the final of the second edition while Army again suffered the final loss in the third edition.

Champions Army will get a prize of Rs 1 million while the first runner-up APF will be awarded Rs 500,000.

Leave A Comment