Army team and Province 5’s Santoshi Shrestha set new national records

Published On: April 22, 2019 10:45 AM NPT By: Anil Malla Thakuri

DANG, April 22: Departmental team Tribhuvan Army Club and Province 5’s Santoshi Shrestha set new national records in different categories and won gold in athletics in the ongoing Eighth National Games in Dang on Sunday. 

At the Beljhundi Stadium in Beljhundi, Army’s women’s team set national record in 4 × 400 meters relay race, while Shrestha set the record in 5,000 meters race and won the gold.

The Army team broke the record set at the 12th South Asian Games (SAG) by Nepali national team featuring Saraswati Bhattarai, Krishna Chaudhary, Tulasa Khatri and Sangita Meche.

Army completed the distance of 4 × 400 meters relay race in 4 minutes 02.8 seconds breaking the national team’s record of 4 minutes 8.20 seconds. 

Likewise, in women’s 5,000 meters race, Shrestha completed the distance in 16 minutes 30 seconds to break the record of 16 minutes 49 seconds set by Kanchhi Maya Koju at 2010 Guangzhou Asian Games. 

The record-setting player was rewarded with Rs 25,000 each, while the gold medal winners received Rs 15,000 each. The National Sports Council (NSC) announced that record-setting teams will get Rs 7,500 each. 

Only women players have managed to set national records in athletics so far. 
Earlier, Nepal Police Club’s Chandrakala Lamgade improved her national records in two categories: shot put and javelin throw. 

Also, in women’s 5,000-meter race on the day, Army’s Bishwarupa Budha, completing the distance in 16 minutes 46 seconds, and Armed Police Force (APF) Club’s Dhanke Shrestha, completing in 17 minutes 03 seconds, claimed silver and bronze medals respectively. 

In men’s 110 meters hurdles, Army’s Nir Kumar Chaudhary won the gold completing the distance in 15 minutes 06 seconds, while Police’s Chandra Dev Joshi bagged the silver and Army’s Ashok Kunwar the bronze. 

In women’s 100 meters hurdles, Province 5’s Pramila Tharu defeated her own team’s Jayarani Chaudhary to win the gold. Tharu clocked 16 minutes 3 seconds, while Chaudhary covered the distance in 16 minutes 18 seconds to bag the silver, and Army’s Tulasa Shrestha got the bronze completing the distance in 18 minutes 3 seconds. 

In men’s 400 meters race, APF’s Nir Pratap Mahato won the gold completing the distance in 49 minutes 9 seconds, while APF’s Shiv Raj Parki, covering the distance in 50 minutes 5 seconds, bagged the silver. Likewise, Province 1’s Prakash Danuwar distanced in 50 minutes 7 seconds to get the bronze. 

In women’s 400 meters race, Army’s Tulasa Khatri won the gold completing the task in 59.91 seconds, while Army’s Sangeeta Meche bagged silver completing the distance in one minute and 0.29 seconds. Also, Province 5’s Aruna Rijal, clocking one minute and 01.54 seconds, claimed the bronze. 

In men’s 5,000 meters race, Gopi Chandra Parki took his revenge against Karnali Province’s Durga Budha to win the gold. Budha had defeated Parki in 10,000 meters race. 

Parki completed the distance in 14 minutes 44.3 seconds, while Budha clocked in 14 minutes 46.54 seconds.

In women’s triple jump, APF’s Sheela Chaudhary won the gold, while Province 5’s Puja Chaudhary bagged silver. Sheela jumped 11.14 meters, while Puja jumped 10.60 meters. Also, Province 5’s Seema Chaudhary won bronze jumping as far as 10.57 meters. 

In men’s triple jump, Province 3’s Bhuwan Mahato won the gold jumping 14.60 meters, while Army duo Dilli Khatri and Aashish Chaudhary won silver and bronze by jumping 13.90 and 13.98 meters, respectively. 

Leave A Comment