APF beats Shivam New Diamond to win Women’s National Volleyball

Published On: September 13, 2018 08:20 AM NPT By: DHAN BASNET

POKHARA, Sept 13: The departmental team Armed Police Force (APF) Club overcame Shivam New Diamond to win the Women’s National Volleyball Tournament for the second year in a row during the final match played on Wednesday.

In the rain-interrupted final match played at the Indra Rajya Laxmi School’s Sports Ground in Lamachaur, APF won three out of four sets to claim the championship. 

Rain kept interrupting the match as first three sets were separated by rain-delays.

Both the lead spikers, Shivam New Diamond’s Pratibha Mali and APF’s Saraswati Chaudhary, inspired its team to a competitive tussle for points as APF won first set 25-20 before New Diamond making a comeback in the second 18-25.

However, APF made a resounding comeback in the match and controlled both the following sets by 25-17, 25-21 to claim the title of national women’s volleyball played on the occasion of Teej festival celebrated extensively by the women of Nepal.

Similarly, the other departmental team Tribhuvan Army Club secured the third position in the tournament after defeating Chitwan Tigers in the identical sets of 25-28, 25-28, 25-28.

A total of five teams took part in the tournament. 

The winner of the tournament, APF took Rs 100,000 home, while the runner-up New Diamond was rewarded with Rs 65,000, informed Sushil Kumar Shrestha, coordinator of the tournament.

Saraswati Chaudhary (APF), Pratibha Mali (New Diamond), Sashi Chaudhary (APF), Sunita Khadka (Army), Jharna Shrestha (New Diamond), Hira 

KC (APF) and Gyanendra Bista (APF) were announced the best player, best spiker, best setter, best blocker, best server, best quicker, and best coach of the tournament respectively.

Leave A Comment