Prime Minister Cup Cricket

Airee helps NPC top points table after win against Province 2

Published On: June 3, 2019 12:17 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

APF falters under DLS as Province 5 registers historic win

KATHMANDU, June 3: Player of the match Dipendra Singh Airee completed his second 5-wicket-haul to help Nepal Police Club (NPC) beat Province 2 by 156 runs during the Prime Minister Cup One-Day Cricket Tournament held at Tribhuvan University Cricket Ground in Kirtipur on Sunday. Province 2 was bundled out for 97 runs in 29 overs chasing the target of 254 posted by NPC.

Province 2 had small chance for qualification for semifinals if they had chased down the target in 40.5 overs. In that case, they would have overtaken NPC on net run-rate and qualify for the semis ahead of them along with Tribhuvan Army Club. However, they faltered against the NPC bowlers.
With the win, NPC has remained unbeaten defeating Province 1, 2, Karnali, and Tribhuvan Army Club during the Group B league stage. NPC will face the second placed Group A team in the semifinals of the 50-over competition.

Airee conceded 28 runs from his full quota of 10 overs. He was supported by consistent Lalit Rajbanshi who chipped with a three-wicket-haul. Similarly, Kushal Bhurtel and Sagar Dhakal shared a wicket each. 

Hari Shankar Shah and skipper Mehboob Alam were the only two batsmen during the chase to cross 20-run mark scoring 29 and 21 runs respectively. Shah scored four boundaries during his 35-ball stay before losing his stumps to an Airee delivery whereas Alam had smashed three towering sixes during his 16-ball stay before getting dismissed in similar fashion. None of the other batsmen were able to reach double-digit scores as Ravi Kumar Sah and Suraj Patel contributed 15 and 12 runs respectively. 

Earlier, NPC had won the toss and elected to bat first. It went on to bat full 50-overs for the first time in the tournament after getting all-out for low-scores in previous matches. All the batsmen contributed their shares of runs as Amit Shrestha top-scored with his 50 runs off 42 deliveries that included five boundaries and a six.   Likewise, Sunil Dhamala, Anil Kumar Sah, Aarif Sheikh, and Kushal Bhurtel contributed 43, 37, 32, and 35 runs respectively. Similarly, Airee and Pawan Sarraf shared 18 and 13 runs to the total. NPC posted 253 runs on the board for the loss of nine wickets in 50 overs.

Province 5 completed a historic three-wicket win against the Armed Police Force Club (APF) in a Group A match played at Mulpani Cricket Stadium in Kathmandu on Sunday. Pranit Thapa Magar remained unbeaten on 30 runs to help his team Province 5 complete the chase of 143 runs in 29.5 overs. In the DLS adjusted target after rain delayed the start of the second innings, Saurav Khanal helped lay the foundation of the first ever win against departmental team APF with his 36-ball 29 runs which included a boundary. Similarly, Shubendhu Pandey chipped in 20 runs opening the batting off 37 deliveries which included two boundaries. 

Amar Singh Routeal picked two wickets supported by Abinash Bohora, Bhuvan Karki and skipper Prithu Baskota’s a wicket each.

Earlier, player of the match Krishna Karki registered his first 3-wicket-haul of the current season to help limit APF for 184 runs for the loss of all its wickets in 49.4 overs. Later, the total runs were adjusted to cover the lost time due to rain intervention. Sandeep Sunar picked two whereas Bikram Bhusal, Siddhant Shah and Anil Kharel shared a wicket each to stop APF batsmen from making big contributions. 

Pradeep Airee played lone innings at one end remaining unbeaten on 77 runs facing 131 deliveries which included three boundaries and a six. Similarly, Sharad Vesawkar and Bhuvan Karki contributed 14 and 13 runs respectively.

APF has completed all its group games with three wins and a loss. The team is on the top of Group A points table with six points. Similarly, Province 3 is in the second position with four points. Province 3 will face Sudur Paschim in its last league match in Mulpani on Monday whereas Gandaki Province will clash against Province 5 at Kirtipur on the same day.



Leave A Comment