9-member committee formed to discuss UDMF’s demands

Published On: July 30, 2016 03:51 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 30: Leaders from Nepali Congress (NC), CPN (Maoist Center) and United Democratic Madhesi Front (UDMF) on Saturday held discussions to rope in UDMF in the new government.

The meeting held at State Affairs Committee, Singha Durbar formed a nine-member committee to prepare a draft to discuss addressing the UDMF's demands and their involvement in the next government.

Spokesperson of Rastriya Madhes Samajwadi Party, Keshav Jha told Republica Online that the names of the members will be finalized by this evening.

During the meeting, UDMF maintained it stance that it will discuss on representing the new government only after a written commitments on fulfilling its demands.

The meeting was attended by NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba, senior leader Ram Chandra Poudel and leader Mahesh Acharya from NC and Maoist Centre Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, leaders Narayan Kaji Shrestha and Krishna Bahadur Mahara from the Maoist Centre.

Likewise, Chairman of Tarai-Madhes Demoratic Party Mahanta Thakur, Chairman of the Sadbhawana Party Rajendra Mahato and Chairman of the Sanghiya Sadbhawana Party Anil Kumar Jha among others represented the UDMF in the meeting


Leave A Comment