11-member impeachment recommendation committee formed

Published On: October 19, 2016 04:04 PM NPT By: Durga Dulal

KATHMANDU, Oct 19: At the time when there are demands to impeach Chief Commissioner at the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA), Lokman Singh Karki, the Legislature-Parliament on Wednesday formed an impeachment recommendation committee.

Speaker Onsari Gharti Magar announced the formation of the 11-member committee during the meeting of the parliament. Four lawmakers each from Nepali Congress (NC) and CPN-UML, two from CPN (Maoist Center) and one from Rastriya Prajatantra Party- Nepal (RPP-N)  are members of the committee.

NC lawmakers Farmullah Mansoor , Gyanendra Bahadur Karki, Deepak Kuinkel and Kumari Laxmi Rai, UML’s Rewati Raman Bhandari, Sushila Karki, Keshav Badal and Parbat Gurung, CPN (Maoist Center) Amanlal Modi and Ram Narayan Bidahi and RPP-N’s Dilnath Giri are members of the committee.

Earlier today, RPP-N had warned of obstructing Prime Minister’s Pushpa Kamal Dahal address to the parliament if its representation is not secured in the committee.

Leave A Comment