APF to defend Didi-Bahini title against Police

Published On: February 21, 2020 12:49 PM NPT By: Anil Malla Thakuri

PARBAT, Feb 21: Defending champion Armed Police Force (APF) Club and Nepal Police Club will vie for the the fourth Didi-Bahini Cup National Women’s Volleyball Tournament title after their respective semifinal wins in Parbat. 

In the semifinals, Police beat the other departmental team Tribhuvan 

Army Club, while champion APF saw off New Diamond Academy to reach the final. 

APF created an early pressure on New Diamond as it took over the first set 25-9, while it shrugged off the comeback from New Diamond in the second set and won the second set 25-15. 

New Diamond went further close to a comeback in the third set. 

But APF was able to get a 25-18 win to beat the opponent in straight sets. 

APF, who is the defending champion of the tournament, is aiming to win the title for the third time. 

In the second semifinal, Police beat Army on straight sets to reach the final for the first time. 

All the three sets were competitive, but Army failed to hold on to its lead and gave away all three. 

Despite presenting a good challenge to APF on Wednesday, it could not do the same against Army a day later. 

Army, however, was poor in both receive and set. Police won the first set 25-19 and created pressure. 

The second set was even more frustrating for Army as the departmental could not seal a win after taking a good lead. 

Army was 20-17 ahead at one point in the second set, but could not hold on to it and gave the set away 25-23. 

The third set was exciting and pulsating but Army yet again failed to close the set as it lost the set from a 23-21 winning position to 26-24. 

It was also a point away from winning the set, but lost the game from a 24-23 situation. 

Police and APF will vie for the title on Friday while Army and New Diamond will battle for the third place. 

Police directly reached the semifinals as Group B winner after getting a walkover from the host Didi-Bahini Radio. 

The winner of the tournament will bag a cash prize of Rs 200,000, while the runner-up will be rewarded with Rs 100,000. 

The third-placed team will receive Rs 50,000. Also, the best players of each category with Rs 25,000 each. 

Leave A Comment