#Lumbini Province

41 lawmakers of opposition alliance file petition demanding formation of majority govt

Published On: August 2, 2021 02:13 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, August 2: As many as 41 lawmakers of opposition parties in Lumbini Province have filed a petition demanding the formation of government in the province based on Article 168(2) of the Constitution of Nepal.

Parliamentary Party (PP) leaders of Nepali Congress (NC), CPN (Maoist center), Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP), and Rastriya Janamorcha Party submitted a petition signed by 41 lawmakers to the Chief of the Lumbini Province Amik Serchan.

Currently, there are 80 lawmakers in the province. Of them, 19 lawmakers belong to NC, 18 belong to Maoist Center and three belong to JSP. A lawmaker belonging to the Rastriya Janamorcha Party has also signed the petition.

Earlier in April, the Chief Minister Shankar Pokharel had lost the majority in the Province Assembly after CPN (Maoist Center) lawmakers withdrew their support from the government. The opposition parties had then filed a no-confidence motion against Pokharel. 

However, Chief Minister Pokharel had prorogued the provincial assembly session without allowing Provincial Assembly to discuss the no-confidence motion and resigned from his post. Later, Pokharel was re-appointed as Chief Minister by then Chief of the Lumbini Province Dharma Nath Yadav after he filed a petition to form a single majority government.


Leave A Comment