Armed Police Force lifts PM Cup Women’s Cricket title

Published On: February 26, 2018 08:59 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

DHANGADHI, Feb 26: Departmental team Armed Police Force (APF) has lifted the ongoing Prime Minister Cup Women’s Cricket Tournament on Sunday, defeating Eastern Region by seven wickets in the final at the Fapla Cricket Ground. 

After the win, APF took home Rs 500,000, while the runner-up Eastern was rewarded with Rs 200,000. 

Eastern, who lost the toss and was made to bat first, made only 60 runs in the allotted 20 overs for the loss of five wickets. Kajol Shrestha scored the highest 18 runs for Eastern, while Roma Thapa contributed 12 runs. All other players failed to take their individual run tally to double digits. APF’s Rekha Rawal, Karuna Bhandari, Ruti Kanaujiya, Anjali Chand, and Sita Rana Magar claimed a wicket each. 

In reply, APF chased the minimal target in just 16.3 overs for the loss of three wickets. Jyoti Pandey scored 22 runs, while Sarita Magar added 15 runs for the winning team. Eastern’s Shanti Chaudhary and Sangeeta Rai picked up a wicket each. 

APF’s Pandey was named the player-of-the-match, while Eastern’s captain Rubina Chhetri was named the player of the tournament and received Rs 10,000. Likewise, Chhetri was adjudged as the best bowler of the tournament, while Eastern’s Kajol Shrestha was named the best batswoman of the tournament. Also, Far-western’s Laxmi Saud got the emerging talent award, whereas her team Far-western got the fair play team award. They all got Rs 5,000 each in cash prize.

Leave A Comment