EC allocates election symbols to political parties for NA election

Published On: January 19, 2018 02:46 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, Jan 19: The Election Commission has allocated election symbols to the 21 political parties that have registered for the purpose of the election to the member of National Assembly. 

Accordingly, the CPN (UML) has been allocated 'the Sun', the Nepali Congress 'Tree', CPN (Maoist Centre) 'Hammer and Sickle inside a Circle', the Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum Nepal the 'A Hand carrying a Torch', and the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal 'Umbrella' as the election symbol. 

Likewise, the Nepal Sanghiya Samajbadi Party has been given 'Bus', Nepal Majdoor Kisan Party 'the Madal', the Sanghiya Lokatantrik Rastriya Manch the 'Khukuri placed inside a sheath', the Bahujan Shakti Party 'Jug', Nepal Pariwar Dal 'Key', the Rastriya Janamorcha 'A Glass' and Nepal Naulo Janabadi Party, 'A pigeon carrying a letter in its beak', as the election symbol. 

Similarly, the Rastriya Prajatantra Party Prajatantrik has been allotted 'Plough within a Circle),the Bibeksheel Sajha Party 'A Pan Balance', the Naya Shakti Party Nepal 'the left eye', Nepal Dalit Party 'a Well', the Rastriya Prajatantra Party 'the Cow', the Bahujan Samaj Party Nepal, a Giraffe', the Gnadhibadi Party Nepal 'a Sheep', the Nepal Janata Dal 'the Wheel of a Bullock Cart', and the Rastriya Mukti Aandolan Nepal the 'Hexagram' as the election symbol. 

The election to the member of the National Assembly is taking place on February 7. The number of voters in the election is 2056 and they will elect eight persons from each province. The Chiefs and Deputy Chiefs of the Rural Municipalities and Municipalities and the Province Assembly members make electoral college for the National Assembly election. 

Besides those elected by the electoral college, the President will nominate three more members to the 59-member National Assembly on the recommendation of the government. The National Assembly is the Upper House of the bicameral federal parliament. The Lower House of parliament is called the House of Representatives. 

Leave A Comment