New faces cement their place in provincial assembly of Sindhupalchowk

Published On: December 11, 2017 01:08 AM NPT By: Dhruba Dangal

SINDHUPALCHOWK, Dec 10: Voters of Sindhupalchowk have elected educated, hardworking, dedicated, intelligent and enthusiastic candidates in the recently concluded provincial assembly elections.
Three candidates of the left alliance and one candidate of democratic alliance have got an opportunity to lead the provincial assembly from this district. 
After losing two constituencies to CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center) in the parliamentary elections, Nepali Congress (NC) stopped the left alliance from making a clean sweep by securing a seat for itself in the provincial assembly. 

In Constituency 1(a), CPN-UML candidate Arun Nepal emerged victorious over NC's Bishnu Bahadur Khatri with a heavy margin of votes. Nepal garnered 21,712 votes while Khatri received 14,633 votes. 
Earlier, UML leader Nepal had earned the reputation of an unlucky leader who wins ticket to elections but never wins. 
However, he was able to get rid of this tag in the recently held elections with the backing of CPN (Maoist Center). Nepal was defeated twice in Constituency 1 in the previous elections. Khatri who competed against Nepal is a businessman by profession.
Likewise, in Constituency 1(b), CPN-UML's Saresh Nepal defeated NC's Rajendra Kumar Shrestha by big margin.     Nepal garnered 22,836 votes while Shrestha secured 12,186 votes. 
Saresh Nepal had earlier handled the responsibility of chairperson and vice-chairperson of the District Development Committee (DDC). His competitor Shrestha is the chairperson of Sindhu Bikash Bank as well as a member of the Federation of Nepalese Chamber of Commerce and Industries (FNCCI).

In Constituency 2(a), CPN (Maoist Center)'s Yuvraj Dulal won the election by a heavy margin. Dulal garnered 20,687 votes while his closest rival Bikash Tamang of NC collected 13,527 votes. Dulal, who is a former Maoist combatant, had played a vital role in the ten-year long People's War waged by the Maoists. After the peace process, he worked in the security unit led by the party's chairperson Pushpa Kamal Dahal for a long time.

Meanwhile, in Constituency 2 (b), NC's Nima Lama saved the blushes of his party by winning a seat. Lama defeated CPN (Maoist Center) candidate Dawa Tamang in a tight contest. Lama secured 18,905 votes while Tamang was hot on his heels with 18,708 votes. Lama is known for his contribution to the social and tourism sectors. Tamang on the other hand is a former lawmaker. 

In the elections of 2008, Tamang had raised a lot of eyebrows by defeating influential leader and chairperson of Rastriya Pratantra Party (RPP) Pashupati Shumsher Rana. However, he boycotted the elections of 2013 to extend his support to the anti-election campaign of Mohan Baidya-led Maoist party. To the disappointment of lot of his supporters, Tamang failed to bag a seat in the House of Representatives even after being backed by CPN-UML.

Leave A Comment