UML-MC to share 60/40 seats in upcoming elections

Published On: October 3, 2017 03:31 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Oct 3: CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center) are jointly organizing press meet on Tuesday to announce the electoral alliance and the party unification between two parties. According to the secretariat of chair Dahal, the press meet will be held at City Hall at 5 PM.

During the meet, CPN-UML chair KP Sharma Oli and CPN (MC) chair will sign in an agreement paper. According to a source, both leaders will sign in a seven-point agreement paper jointly drafted and finalized by two parties.

The two parties have made consensus to share 60/40 seats in Parliament and Provincial assembly. It is learnt that the parties are also preparing to make public a declaration paper although they will not share a common election symbol. Similarly, the parties have agreed to form a joint committee to facilitate the parties for the unification after the elections.

However, differing to the party’s decision, secretariat members of MC Matrika Yadav, Prabhu Shah, Mani Thapa and Gopal Kirati have registered note of dissent at party’s secretariat. 

MC has formed a three-member high-level committee led by party chairperson Pushpa Kamal Dahal. Leaders Narayan Kaji Shrestha and Ram Bahadur Thapa are members of the committee. 

Leave A Comment