Designate judges for Constitutional Bench pronto: Supreme Court

Published On: March 23, 2017 06:56 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 23: Supreme Court (SC) of Nepal has issued a mandamus to Chief Justice (CJ) Sushila Karki to designate justices for the Constitutional Bench.

A full bench of Justices Kedar Prasad Chalise, Ishwar Prasad Khatiwada, Anil Kumar Sinha and Sapana Pradhan Malla has issued the mandamus on the name of CJ Shushila Karki. 

The SC has also ordered the Judicial Council and other members of the Council to form the judicial bench right away.

On March 6, Advocate Madhav Kumar Basnet had filed a writ petition at the SC seeking a mandamus to recommend judges at the Constitutional Bench in line with the Article 137 (1) of the Constitution. 

Two posts of justices are lying vacant in the Constitutional Bench following the retirement of former Chief Justice Kalyan Shrestha on age ground since one year. The Constitutional Bench has been defunct due to the lack of jutices.

According to the Constitutional regulations, JC will appoint justices at the Constitutional Bench in the recommendation of Chief Justice.


Leave A Comment