Terms of these 20 MPs will end on March 3

Published On: November 30, 2023 12:30 PM NPT By: Ishwari Subedi

KATHMANDU, Nov 30: The terms of 20 members of the National Assembly will come to an end in March 2024. Among the departing MPs, 18 represent various clusters, with six from other groups, seven from women's groups, two from persons with disabilities or minority communities, and three from Dalit groups. Additionally, the tenures of independent MP Dr Khimlal Devkota and the nominated MP Bimala Rai Paudyal, appointed by the President, will also conclude on March 3.

Looking at the provincial basis, the departing MPs include two from Koshi, two from Madhesh, four from Bagmati, three from Gandaki, two from Lumbini, three from Karnali, and three from Sudurpaschim. The vacancies for nominated positions will be elected by the President.

For positions other than nominations, elections are scheduled for January 24, 2024, as decided by the government. The newly elected members will take the oath of office and secrecy on March 3.

With the six-year term of National Assembly Speaker Ganesh Prasad Timilsina also concluding on March 3, the newly elected members will be administered the oath by the senior-most National Assembly member. Following the oath ceremony, elections will be held for the new chairman.

Among the departing MPs are four from Nepali Congress and eight from CPN-UML. Notable among them are Anita Devkota from Lumbini Province, Jitendra Narayan Dev from Madhesh Province, Prakash Panth from Gandaki Province, and Ramesh Jung Rayamajhi from Koshi Province, all representing various groups. The terms of three MPs from the CPN (Maoist Center) and two from CPN (Unified Socialist) are also set to expire.

Among them are Timilsina elected from another group of Gandaki province, Indu Kadaria elected from Sudurpaschim province under women group quota and Kumar Dasoudi elected from Lumbini province through by-election under other group quota. Dasoudi was elected in the by-election after the resignation of UML's Khimlal Bhattarai, who was elected as a member of the National Assembly from Lumbini.

Dipa Gurung elected from Gandaki province under the women group quota, Dilkumari Rawal Thapa (Parbati) elected from Bagmati province under women group quota, Narpati Luwar elected from Karnali province under Dalit group quota, Bhairab Sundar Shrestha elected from Karnali province under other group quota, Bagmati province disabled Ramchandra Rai is elected from the quota of individuals or minority communities.

There are three MPs from the CPN (Maoist Center) whose term ends in March. Mahesh Kumar Mahara was elected from Sudurpaschim province under the quota of persons with disabilities or minority communities, Bina Pokharel was elected from Koshi province under the quota of women's group and Hari Ram Chaudhary was elected from Sudurpaschim under the quota of other groups.

Similarly, the term of office of Nanda Chapai (elected from Karnali province from women's group quota) and Singh Bahadur Bishwakarma (elected from Bagmati province from Dalit group quota) of CPN (Unified Socialist) will also expire on March 3.

Similarly, the tenure of Pramila Kumari of Janata Samajwadi Party is also coming to an end. She was elected from Madhesh province under the women's group quota. Devkota, an independent MP whose term is ending, was elected from Bagmati.

Devkota was elected from a vacant post after the party took action against Ram Bahadur Thapa, who was elected from the CPN (Maoist Center). According to the provisions of the constitution, the term of office of Paudyal nominated by the President is also ending.

As per the constitution, the term of office of the members of the National Assembly shall be six years and the term of office of one third of the members shall expire every two years. According to which, when the term of a member is established for the first time, two years of one-third and four years of the other one-third are completed through a lucky draw system. The six-year term of the remaining one-third of the members is also ending for the first time. 


Leave A Comment