20 ‘unlucky’ candidates who lost HoR election even after securing 30,000 plus votes

Published On: December 3, 2022 07:40 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 3: Twenty candidates, who contested the election for a seat in the House of Representatives on November 20, lost the poll even after securing over 30,000 votes.

Eight candidates from Nepali Congress (NC), seven from CPN-UML, three from CPN (Maoist Centre), one each from CPN (Unified Socialist) and Rastriya Janamorcha secured more than 30,000 votes but failed to secure their place in the new HoR.

In Province-1, NC candidate from Panchthar constituency-1 Bhishma Raj Angdembe received 32,089 votes but lost the race with a thin margin of 46 votes. Other NC candidates, Krishna Prasad Sitaula from Jhapa constituency-3 obtained 37,386 votes, Sujata Koirala 31,940 and Bijay Kumar Gachchhadar 35,600. Likewise, UML's Jagadish Prasad Kusiyait from Sunsari-4 garnered 30,371 votes, but lost the election to NC candidate Gyanendra Bahadur Karki.

In Madhes Province, CPN (Maoist Centre)'s Narendra Saha Kalawar from Sarlahi-3 secured 32,168 votes and NC candidate Umakanta Chaudhary from Bara-1 received 30,056 votes. Both of them could not secure their place in the parliament.

In Bagmati Province, UML candidate from Ramechhap-1 Kailash Prasad Dhungel lost the election even after garnering 30,730 votes. UML's Resham Bahadur Lama from Kavrepalanchowk-1 also gathered 30,548 votes but failed to win the election. Similarly, NC's Shiva Prasad Humagain from Kavrepalanchowk-2 obtained 39,482 votes and CPN (Unified Socialist)'s Birodh Khatiwada from Makawanpur-2 secured 30,432. Despite securing over 30,000 votes, both the candidates could not make it to the parliament.

In Gandaki Province, CPN (Maoist Centre)'s Dev Prasad Gurung contesting from Lamjung-1 got 31,791 votes, UML"s Tilak Bahadur Mahat from Nawalparasi Bardaghat Susta (East)-2 obtained 34,110 votes but failed to win the election.

In Lumbini, UML candidate Pradeep Kumar Gyawali was defeated in the HoR election even after receiving 32,152 votes, NC's Pushpa Bhusal from Arghakhanchi-1 received 40,945 votes, NC's Bal Krishna Khand from Rupandehi-3 garnered 34,036 votes, UML's Brijesh Kumar Gupta from Kapilvastu-2 gathered 38,697 votes and Rastriya Janamorcha's Durga Poudel from Pyuthan-1 secured 35,814 votes. However, all of them failed to become members of parliament.

In Karnali Province, although UML's Dhurba Kumar Shahi from Surkhet-1 obtained 30,988 votes, he lost the election. In Sudurpaschim Province, CPN (Maoist Centre) candidate Narendra Bahadur Kunwar from Baitadi-1 lost the HoR election even after getting 32,080 votes, according to the Election Commission.



Leave A Comment