Ruling alliance wins majority seats in Karnali province assembly

Published On: November 27, 2022 05:28 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

Nov 27: The ruling alliance has won majority seats in the recent election to the members of the Province Assembly in Karnali Province. The ruling alliance clinched 18 seats while the UML won five in ongoing vote count under the first-past-the-post electoral system. In the previous election, the alliance of the CPN (Maoist Center) and the UML had won the highest 20 seats.     

Majority of voters in some constituencies of the province decided to reelect their representatives. Those reelected are Yamlal Kandel of Surkhet 2(1), Bindaman Bist of Surkhet 2(2), Bir Bahadur Shahi of Dolpa (2) and Jeevan Bahadur Shahi of Humla (2). Shahi is also the incumbent Chief Minister of Karnali Province.     

 Out of 24 seats under the FPTP system, 20 newly-elected members in the province are new faces.    

The new faces include Khadga Pokhrel of the Nepali Congress from Surkhet 1A, Krishha Bahadur GC of CPN (Maoist Center) from Surkhet 1B, Bhim Prakash Sharma of CPN (Maoist Centre) from Salyan A, Suresh Adhikari of Nepali Congress from Salyan B, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Mahendra KC and Rajkumar Sharma from Rukum West A and B respectively and NC candidates Bedraj Singh and Rajiv Bikram Shah from Jajarkot A and B respectively.     

Similarly, UML’s Sher Bahadur Budha from Dolpa A, independent candidate Devendra Shahi from Jumla A, UML’s Tekraj Pachhai from Jumla B, UML’s Jit Bahadur Malla from Mugu A, CPN ( Maoist Centre)’s Mangal Bahadur Shahi from Mugu B, CPN ( Maoist Centre)’s Rana Singh Pariyar from Humla A and Hikmat Bahadur Bist of the CPN (Maoist Centre) from Kalikot B are among those going to have their first experience as the PA legislators after winning the November 20 elections.     

Purna Bahadur Khatri and Krishna Kumar BC from Dailkeh 1A and B, and Ghanashyam Bhandari from Dailkeh 2A are also new faces in the Karnali Provincial Assembly.     

Durg Bahadur Rawat elected from Kalikot A and Binod Kumar Shah elected from the Dailekh 2B are former HoR members.  (RSS)  


Leave A Comment