Parties fail to forge consensus, again

Published On: December 26, 2016 07:50 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 26: The meeting of the seven political parties held at the call of Speaker Onsari Gharti failed to forge consensus on the measures to clear the political deadlock after the parties did not budge from their respective positions. 

The meeting held at the office of the Legislature-Parliament in New Baneshwor saw diverse priorities of the political parties. 

Prime Minister and CPN (MC) Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal underscored the need of passing the constitution amendment bill and proposed solving entire pressing issue through a package deal. But the major opposition CPN-UML argued that constitution amendment proposal was the bone of contention. 

"UML urged the ruling parties to put the bill on hold and focus on constitution implementation," UML Vice-Chairman Bhim Rawal said, adding that the country was facing threat to nationality, independence and national integrity. The amendment bill would further foment the conflict, he claimed. 

Despite the differences, all parties attending the meeting however agreed to continue formal and informal talks to seek a solution. 

Nepali Congress General Secretary Dr Sashank Koirala said they decided to continue with dialogue and discussion to seek solutions to the problems. 

Spokesperson of the CPN (Maoist-Centre) Pampha Bhusal said the parties discussed on announcing the elections dates after the consensus is formed on resolving problems relating to constitution bill. She added that the idea of package deal was mooted for seeking political way out. 

In the beginning of the meeting, Speaker Gharti had urged the top political brass to end bitterness and take initiatives to forge consensus and ensure the resumption of the parliament business. 

The meeting was attended by Prime Minister and Maoist-Center Chairman Dahal, leader Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Ram Bahadur Thapa, Chief Whip Tek Bahadur Basnet, Spokesperson Bhusal and Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Ajay Shankar Nayak from the Maoist-Centre, while NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba, Home Minister Bimalendra Nidhi, leaders Prakash Man Singh and Krishna Prasad Sitaula and Chief Whip Chin Kaji Shrestha from the Nepali Congress. 

Similarly, UML's Vice-Chairman Rawal, leader Subas Nembang and Chief Whip Bhanu Bhakta Dhakal were present from the UML side, and RPP Chairman Kamal Thapa, leader Deepak Bohara and Chief Whip Dilnath Giri from RPP. 

Also attending the meeting were Chairman of Tarai-Madhes Loktantrik Party, Mahanth Thakur, Co-Chairman of Federal Socialist Forum Nepal, Rajendra Shrestha, and its Chief Whip Yogendra Chaudhary among others. RSS 


Leave A Comment