Voting underway for new NSU leadership

Published On: August 17, 2016 12:31 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Aug 17: A voting under the Nepal Students Union's 11th General Convention started from 12 pm, five hours late of the scheduled time.

The election is underway at the Nepali Congress Central Office, Sanepa, according to General Convention election officer Krishna Prasad Paneru.

Seven candidates are in the race for the post of President. They are Manojmani Acharya, Nain Singh Mahar, Shubharam Basnet, Ananda Raj Tripathi, Laxman Acharya, Nagendra Singh Thakuri and Bachan Karki. Padam Raj Panta has already withdrawn his nomination.

Six candidates are competing for the post of General Secretary and five for treasurer.
Parmeshwor Saha has been elected the assistant- general secretary from the Madhesi quota. His election was unopposed.

According to the election committee member Arun Panjikar, altogether 685 individuals have filed candidacy for 129 different posts. NSU is electing a president, 11 vice presidents including each one from seven provinces and a vice president each form Madhesi, indigenous ethnic communities and Dalit community as well as a woman vice president.

Likewise, two general secretary, one treasurer, 13 joint general secretaries, and 101 central committee members will be elected through the general convention.

Altogether 3800 representatives will cast votes to elect new leadership of the 46-year-old student union.

Leave A Comment