Unbeaten Rhinos lift WCL trophy beating Kat Queens

Published On: October 24, 2019 03:45 PM NPT By: Kamal Subedi  | @Inspiredkamal

KATHMANDU, Oct 24: Chitwan Rhinos have been crowned champions in the first-ever women franchiseT20 cricket league, Women Champions League (WCL) after they beat Kat Queens Kathmandu by 46 runs.

In the final match played at Tribhuwan University Cricket Ground, Kirtipur on Thursday, Rhinos were unbeaten throughout the tournament.

Earlier, Kat Queens Kathmandu won the toss and invited Rhinos to bat.

Rhinos set the target of 114 runs by losing 4 wickets. Suman Khatiwada, the highest scorer for the team hit 29 off 25 balls while Kajal Shrestha and Kanchan Shrestha scored 21 off 28 and 19 off 26 balls respectively.

During their bowling spell, Sangita Rai, Laxmi Saud and Saraswati Kumari Chaudhary of Kat Queen Kathmandu hauled a wicket each.

Chasing the target, Kat Queens managed to score only 67 runs losing all the wickets in allotted 20 overs. Only Apsari Begam (15), Mamta Thapa(13) and Ishwari Bista (13) reached the double-digit score.

Ritu Kanoujiya dominated the bowling line-up, hauling 3 wickets by conceding only 7 runs in 4 overs.  Suman Khatiwada with her all-round performance also took 3 wickets of Kat Queens conceding 11 runs in 4 overs. Similarly, Rekha Rawal also claimed 2 Kat Queens wickets.

Rubina Chhetri, skipper of Kat Queens was awarded the player of the series for her brilliant batting performance. However, she couldn't lead her team to victory.

Leave A Comment