UML task force meeting underway

Published On: July 9, 2021 01:34 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 9: A fresh round of meeting of the task force formed to resolve the intraparty disputes in the CPN-UML is underway at Singha Durbar. 

The 10-member taskforce, which has been holding a series of meetings for the past few days, is yet to settle the differences surfaced in the party. 

The members of the taskforce, which comprises five leaders each from the two factions --- one led by Chairman KP Sharma Oli and the other by senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal --- held informal discussion from early in the morning on Friday. 

The Nepal faction is demanding revocation of decisions taken March 7 onward. The Oli faction, however, is demanding the members of the dissolved parliament --- close to the Nepal faction -- withdraw their signatures through which they extended their support to the Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba when the latter staked claim to a new government as per Article 76 (5) of the constitution on May 21. 

The Task Force has Subas Nembang, Pradip Gyawali, Bishnu Poudel, Bishnu Rimal and Shankar Pokharel from Oli’s side and Bhim Rawal, Ghanashyam Bhusal, Bista, Raghuji Pant and Surendra Pandey from the Nepal-led faction as members.

Leave A Comment