UML makes a clean sweep in Tehrathum

Published On: December 11, 2017 01:30 AM NPT By: KULCHAND PHOMBO  | @@kulchandphombo

KATHMANDU, Dec 10: CPN-UML candidate Bhawani Khapung, who fought the parliamentary elections with the backing of left alliance, emerged victorious with 21,335 votes. His closest rival Sita Gurung of Nepali Congress got 19,314 votes.

Similarly, CPN-UML candidate Laxman Tiwari has been elected member to the Provincial Assembly (A) in Tehrathum district, with 11, 726 votes. His closest rival Govinda Dhungana of Nepali Congress received 10,260 votes. He defeated Dhungana with a margin of 1,466 votes.

Likewise, CPN-UML candidate Tejman Kandangwa has been elected member to the Provincial Assembly (B) with 10,302 votes, defeating NC candidate Bijaya Sambahamphe. Sambahamphe got 8,047 votes. Of the total 19,963 votes cast under provincial elections, 712 had been invalid.

As many as 11 different political parties including CPN-UML and NC had taken part in the second round of parliamentary and provincial elections on December 7.

Of the total 66, 667 people who registered their names in the voter list, 44, 215 votes were cast in the elections. Of those cast, only 43,301 had been valid.

Likewise, Federal Democratic National Forum's Shankar Man Limbu secured 910 votes, Naya Shakti Party Nepal candidate Tanka Bahadur Bhattarai obtained 170 votes, Federal Socialist Forum Nepal candidate Tulasi Prasad Adhikari got 156 votes, CPN (ML) candidate Dilli Bahadur Budhathoki secured 145 votes while Rastriya Janamukti Party candidate Sagarnath Regmi got 97 votes.

Similarly, Desbhakta Janaganatantrik Morcha Morcha Nepal candidate Kali Bahadur Phudong 50, Mangol National Organization candidate Ganga Bahadur Chongbang Limbu 45, Ekikrit Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Rastrabadi) candidate Gauri Prasad Kandangwa 43 while Rastriya Janamorcha got 33 votes.

There were 53 polling stations and 89 polling centers in the district.

In the second Constituent Assembly elections held on November 19, 2013, Bhawani Khapung had been elected with 17,000 votes while Tulasi Subba of Nepali Congress got 14,000 votes.  In the first Constituent Assembly elections, Khapung had suffered a humiliating defeat at the hand of Subba. This is Khapung’s second straight win.


Leave A Comment