UML picks mayoral, deputy mayoral candidates for four towns

Published On: May 26, 2017 10:00 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 26: CPN-UML has picked candidates for mayors and deputy mayors of four sub-metropolitan cities of Province 5.

The party's standing committee meeting headed by party Chairman KP Sharma Oli selected Samasuddin Siddiqui and Shanti Dhakal as mayoral and deputy mayoral candidates of Nepalgunj Sub-metropolitan City respectively. 

Narulal Chaudhary and Sita Neupane have been picked as mayoral and deputy mayoral candidates of Ghorahi, Ghanashyam Pandey and Maya Acharya for Tulsipur, and Shivaraj Subedi and Goma Acharya for Butwal Sub-metropolitan City, reads a statement issued by party spokesperson Yogesh Bhattarai.

The opposition party also welcomed the Supreme Court's interim order against the government's decision to increase the number of local units in tarai districts. The party has been opposing the government decision to increase 22 local units in various tarai districts.

Leave A Comment