TAAN announces candidates for executive body poll

Published On: October 28, 2017 08:01 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Oct 27: Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN) has published the list of candidates for its election of central executive committee scheduled on October 29, 2017. 

Mohan Lamsal, owner of Makalu Adventure, and Navaraj Dahal, managing director of Nepal Environmental Treks and Expedition Pvt Ltd, are leading their respective panels for the election. 
TAAN’s efforts to elect a new executive committee through consensus went in vain, according to incumbent general secretary Karna Lama. 

“We tried to elect the new executive committee of TAAN through consensus but somehow it did not succeed, so we are preparing for election where two panels are contesting,” Lama said: “As entrepreneurs and members of the association, we have similar objective. So it would be better if we had elected the new leadership unanimously.”

For the post of president, Nawaraj Dahal, Mohan Lamsal and Nuru Jangbu Sherpa have filed their nominations. Similarly, Purna Chandra Bhusal and Khum Bahadur Subedi have stood for the post of senior vice president. 

Likewise, Jivan Thapa Magar and Babu Kaji Sitaula are contesting for the post of first vice president; Rishi Prasad Nepal and Nilhari Bastola for the second vice president; Aang Pemba Sherpa and Chewan Devkota for the general secretary; and Sujan Lamichhane and Cholendra Bahadur Karki for secretary. 

Similarly, Ram Krishna Timilsina and Subash KC are competing for the post of treasurer while Tara Rana and Kiran Dharel are contesting for assistant treasurer. Kabita Lamichhane (Rijal) and Ritu Gyamdan (Tamang) are competing for the post of women members. For the member’s post Rabindra Adhikari, Rajan Prasad Kapri, Gopal Shrestha, Ram Bahadur Khadka, Jivan lama, Baburam Gurung, Suk Bahadur Lama, Harisharan Kharel, Harka Bahadur Gurung, Sher Bahadur Pariyar, Junga Bahadur Lama, Kul Prasad Subedi, Saroj Katel, Surya Bahadur Thapa, Namgyal Jangbu Sherpa, and Aang Babu Sherpa have registered their candidacies.

Of the presidential contenders, Mohan Lamsal organized a press meet on Friday to announce their candidacy for the election.

Leave A Comment